Science is awesome

Cubs, Scouts and Leaders had a great day out at ANU.  The SciScouts: Chemistry of Scouting activity was  co-hosted by Scouts ACT and the ANU School of Chemistry on Saturday 13 August 2016. The event was funded by a National Science Week grant supported by the Australian Government’s Inspiring Australia Initiative.

Many hands-on activities and talks were provided along a Chemistry theme, with sub-themes of Environment, Health, Bushcraft and Biology.  To make sure as many youth members could take part as possible, the event was run in two sessions, targetted to suit  the younger and older age groups.

Many ANU science students gave up their time to be demonstrators in the labs and outdoor activities, and no small number of volunteers across all roles were current or former scouters themselves, including a former Kama Scout who was a volunteer demonstrator with the blue-printing activity, and the liquid nitrogen icecream stall.


Two Grey Wolf Awards

Baeddan and Hayden received their Grey Wolf Awards at a ceremony in front of the full Cub Pack, and family.  When asked what the best thing was about doing their Grey Wolf, Baeddan said the highlight was how special it made him feel to have achieved the award, and Hayden said it was the feeling of success he got from doing the work.    Perhaps if we had asked them a few minutes later, they would have said the cake was the best part!  Well done, young fellows.  Enjoy the next leg of your scouting journey, as Kama Scouts.

Adult Scouting Awards

Eight Kama people were announced as recipients of Adult Recognition Awards today (World Scouting Day – 1 August 2016).  They were nominated by their peers for giving “extra mile” service to scouting.   Congratulations to Sarah Smith, Clayton Gumbrell, Amanda Sheaves, Jackie Stenhouse, Ken Wedgwood and Bill Woodruff.  The annual award round is an opportunity to acknowledge not only leaders, who are very visible, but also the quiet achievers behind the scenes.  Two important supporters from the Kama Parent Committee were also acknowledged today:  Kama’s Committee Chair, Kate Boesen, and Treasurer, Ian Gordon.

2016 HERC Awardees